Longmeadow Democratic Town Committee to Host Democratic Candidates for Governor


Longmeadow Democratic Town Committee to Host Democratic Candidates for Governor

Longmeadow – The Longmeadow Democratic Town Committee will host the three announced Democratic candidates for Governor at their Wednesday November 8, 2017 meeting. The meeting will be held at 7:00pm at Greenwood Center, 231 Maple Road in Longmeadow.

The event will feature Newton Mayor Setti Warren, Jay Gonzalez, and Bob Massie. The event will be panel discussion moderated by Longmeadow Democratic Town Committee Chairwoman Candy Glazer followed by a question and answer segment. Questions should be submitted in advance by visiting LongmeadowDemocrats.com/forum or upon arrival at the meeting.

The formal program will be preceded by a brief meet and greet reception with the candidates beginning at 7:00pm.

WHO: Longmeadow Democratic Town Committee

WHAT: Candidates Night featuring Newton Mayor Setti Warren, Jay Gonzales, and Bob Massie

WHERE: Greenwood Center “Over 60 Room,” 231 Maple Road, Longmeadow, MA 01106

WHEN: Wednesday November 8, 2017 at 7:00pm.


This event is open to the public and to press, for more information visit LongmeadowDemocrats.com or email LongmeadowDemocrats@gmail.com


Longmeadow Democrats name Stan Rosenberg Democrat of the year

Longmeadow Democrats name Stan Rosenberg Democrat of the year

BY SEAN TEEHAN, January 11, 2017

LONGMEADOW — The Longmeadow Democratic Town Committee will recognize Massachusetts Senate President Stanley C. Rosenberg as Democrat of the year.

The award will be presented during the committee's annual brunch at Twin Hills Country Club in Longmeadow at 9:30 a.m. April 30.

"I am pleased to present Senate President Rosenberg with the Longmeadow Democratic Town Committee's 'Democrat of the Year' for his leadership and all of his achievements and service to the commonwealth," committee Chairwoman Candy Glazer said in a statement.

Rosenberg, an Amherst Democrat, began serving as Senate president in 2015, following his predecessor Therese Murray. He has been in the Senate since 1991 and previously served in the state House of Representatives starting in 1986.

Since the Democrat of the year ceremony was first held in 1989, it has become a popular political event for local and statewide elected officials, Glazer said. Recent recipients range from former Gov. Michael Dukakis to Longmeadow state Sen. Eric Lesser.

Last year, the group honored Massachusetts Attorney General Maura Healy, citing her commitment to issues that affect Western Massachusetts.

"The annual brunch typically has a sold out crowd of over 200 people, drawing Democrats from across the state," the committee said.

In addition, Glazer said, U.S. Rep. Richard E. Neal will be recognized for his work in Congress.

"We also look forward to honoring Congressman Neal for his new role as ranking member of the House Committee on Ways and Means," Glazer said.

Tickets will be available to purchase in March. For more information, email longmeadowdemocrats@gmail.com.

1 Comment

Longmeadow Democrats to Honor Gov. Michael Dukakis

By Rob Rizzuto 

LONGMEADOW — One of the most active Democratic town committees in Massachusetts is poised to honor former Gov. Michael Dukakis at its annual awards breakfast.

Led by chairwoman Candy Glazer, the Longmeadow Democratic Town Committee is selling tickets for its June 1 breakfast at Twin Hills Country Club, where a bevy of influential Democrats, including Congressman Richard Neal and Springfield Mayor Domenic Sarno, are slated to attend.

"The LDTC is proud to host this annual award breakfast and to welcome so many people who join us every year here in Longmeadow for this great political and social event," Glazer said in a press release. "This year we are delighted to honor Mike Dukakis for all of his achievements, his life long commitment to public service, and his special relationship with Longmeadow and Western Massachusetts."

Dukakis, who twice served as governor of Massachusetts from 1975 to 1979 and 1983 to 1991, also unsuccessfully ran for president in 1988. The former governor remains active in Democratic Party politics in Massachusetts, and will be honored by the LTDC as the 2014 Democrat of the Year. The 2014 LDTC Member Achievement Award is slated to go to Dr. Stanley Glazer.

The public is welcome to attend and tickets are available for $28 each by contacting Candy Glazer via email at Longmeadow Democrats@gmail.com. Reservations must be made by May 26 for the June 1 event, which starts at 9 a.m. with breakfast and the awards ceremony beginning at 9:30 a.m.

1 Comment