BY SEAN TEEHAN, January 11, 2017

LONGMEADOW — The Longmeadow Democratic Town Committee will recognize Massachusetts Senate President Stanley C. Rosenberg as Democrat of the year.

The award will be presented during the committee's annual brunch at Twin Hills Country Club in Longmeadow at 9:30 a.m. April 30.

"I am pleased to present Senate President Rosenberg with the Longmeadow Democratic Town Committee's 'Democrat of the Year' for his leadership and all of his achievements and service to the commonwealth," committee Chairwoman Candy Glazer said in a statement.

Rosenberg, an Amherst Democrat, began serving as Senate president in 2015, following his predecessor Therese Murray. He has been in the Senate since 1991 and previously served in the state House of Representatives starting in 1986.

Since the Democrat of the year ceremony was first held in 1989, it has become a popular political event for local and statewide elected officials, Glazer said. Recent recipients range from former Gov. Michael Dukakis to Longmeadow state Sen. Eric Lesser.

Last year, the group honored Massachusetts Attorney General Maura Healy, citing her commitment to issues that affect Western Massachusetts.

"The annual brunch typically has a sold out crowd of over 200 people, drawing Democrats from across the state," the committee said.

In addition, Glazer said, U.S. Rep. Richard E. Neal will be recognized for his work in Congress.

"We also look forward to honoring Congressman Neal for his new role as ranking member of the House Committee on Ways and Means," Glazer said.

Tickets will be available to purchase in March. For more information, email